jump to navigation

Smoked Salmon Sandwich with Dill & Caper Sour Cream Sauce March 18, 2010

Posted by Deniz Olcay in Healthy Eats, Quick Eats.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

When I woke up and saw the sun shining in through the blinds, I couldn’t wait to kick off my day with a healthy bowl of cereal. When I finished, I wondered… Why stop there? So I grabbed my shoes, hat and shades, and hit the streets for a half-hour run around the park. After my run, my stomach started rumbling… And that’s when it happened…

Quickly kicking off my shoes, I rummaged through the fridge, eager to stick to my “healthy day”.  I found a packet of smoked salmon hidden behind the cheese, and got inspired. I was going to make a salmon sandwich, but not just any salmon sandwich… One of the healthiest, most delicious sandwiches I have ever made. I can’t wait to show you guys how to make it, and know you will enjoy it on your “healthy day”, whenever that may be!

You will need

Pack of smoked salmon
2 heaped tablespoons of sour cream
2 tablespoons of chopped dill
1 tablespoon of olive oil
1/4 cup of finely chopped red pepper
1 tablespoon of capers
1 teaspoon of fresh lemon juice
Fresh cracked black pepper
Rye bread

1. Place 4 slices of rye bread into the oven, while we make the sour cream sauce. This recipe serves 2 people.

Place rye bread into the oven at 325F for about 5 minutes

2. Finely chop 1/4 cup of red pepper, make sure the cubes are as small as you can cut them

Chop the red pepper into small cubes

3. Add the chopped pepper into a bowl, chop 2 tablespoons of fresh dill, and add 1 tablespoon of olive oil

Add the 2 tablespoons of chopped dill

4. Add 2 heaped tablespoons of sour cream to the bowl

Add 2 heaped tablespoons of sour cream

5. Finally, add 1 teaspoon of lemon juice, some black pepper and 1 tablespoon of capers into the bowl and mix

Add lemon juice, pepper and capers

6.Take the rye bread out of the oven after 5-6 minutes, and place 2 slices of smoked salmon and some of the sour cream sauce we just prepared

Place the sour cream sauce on top of 2 slices of smoked salmon

7. Prepare 2 sandwiches, and enjoy with your favorite companion or all by yourself!

Mmmm delicious!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

